John C. ("Chris") Inglis

Former U.S. National Cyber Director
Office of the National Cyber Director
Joined Board: 2023 (Previously served 2016-2021)
John C. ("Chris") Inglis

About Chris

Chris Inglis is a longtime American government official who most recently served as the first-ever U.S. National Cyber Director, a Senate-confirmed position for which he was unanimously confirmed in June 2021. Prior to this appointment, he served as a Commissioner on the U.S. Cyberspace Solarium Commission from 2019 to 2020, and as the Deputy Director and Chief Operating Officer of the National Security Agency, where he was employed for 28 years and was responsible for guiding and directing strategies, operations, and policy, retiring in 2014. He also served on Huntington's Board of Directors prior to assuming his role as National Cyber Director.

Mr. Inglis has held a number of academic and advisory positions, including the Looker Professor of Cyber Studies at the U.S. Naval Academy, a principal at Paladin Capital, a member of the Department of Defense Science Board, a member of the U.S. Strategic Command Advisory Board, a member of the Penn State Advanced Research Lab advisory board, and a Trustee of the National Intelligence University. Mr. Inglis is a retired veteran pilot, with 30 years of experience in the U.S. Air Force and Air National Guard, attaining the rank of Brigadier General. His military service included command at the squadron, group, and joint force headquarters, and he holds a Command Pilot rating. 

Mr. Inglis brings to the Board extensive leadership and cybersecurity expertise, which strengthens the governance of the Board, the NESG Committee, and the Technology Committee.

Mr. Inglis holds advanced degrees in engineering and computer science from Columbia University, Johns Hopkins University, and George Washington University. He is also a graduate of the J.L. Kellogg Graduate School of Management at Northwestern University executive development program, the U.S. Air Force Air War College, Air Command and Staff College, and Squadron Officers' School.

Committees: Nominating and ESG Committee, Technology Committee